You are currently not logged in to BMJ Careers.
  • Advert number: 298179-0
  • Posted Date: 13/03/12
  • Closing Date: 11/04/12

LONDON DEANERY
University College London
NIHR CLINICAL LECTURESHIPS
CARDIOLOGY, RESPIRATORY MEDICINE, ENDOCRINOLOGY
AND METABOLISM, GASTROENTEROLOGY AND HEPATOLOGY
RENAL MEDICINE AND CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY
University College London is delighted to offer exciting opportunities for aspiring Clinical Academic Trainees in the form of four Clinical Lecturer posts within the School of Life and Medical Sciences: two Clinical Lectureships sponsored by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and two with matched funding from the Division of Medicine within the Faculty of Medical Science.
 The posts are available in the following specialties: Cardiology, Respiratory Medicine, Endocrinology and Metabolism, Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Renal Medicine or Clinical Pharmacology. The specialties appointed to will depend upon the best candidates applying for the two posts matched to training opportunities. These posts are intended to provide opportunities for advanced research experience for post-doctoral trainees currently in Specialist Training who plan to pursue an Academic Medical Career. The level of the appointment, and therefore salary, will be determined by the seniority of the applicant.
 Applications are invited from individuals in training who can demonstrate potential for development as a Clinical Academic. Applicants should be specialist trainees who have already completed a higher research degree (PhD/MD or equivalent) and a period of Specialist Clinical Training. The postholder will spend 50% of their time undertaking research and teaching at UCL and 50% in Clinical Training on the UCL Partners training rotation, including UCLH and the Royal Free Hospital. Research activities will be based within the School of Life and Medical Sciences and inter-and cross-faculty collaborations will be supported and encouraged.
 The successful candidates will also have opportunities to contribute to the Undergraduate Teaching Programme in the relevant specialty. Further particulars of the wide-ranging research and teaching opportunities in the Faculty of Medical Sciences are available on the UCL School of Life and Faculty Medical Sciences Website http://www.ucl.ac.uk/slms/ and http://www.ucl.ac.uk/medical-sciences
 Further information about the NIHR Clinical Lectureship programme is available at http://www.nihrtcc.nhs.uk/intetacatrain/cl The post is for a maximum of four years, subject to satisfactory annual review. Further information about clinical research opportunities at UCL is available at: http://www.ucl.ac.uk/slms/aco
 For further information about the posts, please contact the Divisional Programme Lead, Professor Jean McEwan, Professor of Clinical Education, email: j.mcewan@ucl.ac.uk and the relevant specialty programme lead: Cardiology, Dr Derek Hausenloy, email: d.hausenloy@ucl.ac.uk Respiratory, Dr Jeremy Brown, email: Jeremy.brown@ucl.ac.uk Diabetes and Endocrinology, Dr Rachel Batterham, email: r.batterham@ucl.ac.uk Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Professor Alistair Forbes, email: a.forbes@ucl.ac.uk Renal Medicine, Professor Robert Unwin, email: r.unwin@ucl.ac.uk Clinical Pharmacology, Dr Ross Breckenridge, email: r.breckenridge@ucl.ac.uk Closing date for applications: 11th April 2012. Interviews likely to be held in the week commencing: 30th April 2012.
 For full details and how to apply please visit the London Deanery Website: http://www.londondeanery.ac.uk/var/recruitment/academic-training
298179-0